Report A Crime
Our Organization
Our Response Areas
For Your Safety
Our Newsroom
Print this PageSite Feedback
Seat Belts and Child Safety Seats
WEARING SEAT BELTS IS A SMART MOVE
 
Making the decision to buckle up every time you get into an automobile is definitely a smart move.
 
IT IS ALSO THE LAW
 
North Carolina law enforcement officers know first-hand the benefits of the seat belt law.  More and more adults and children are surviving crashes with less serious injuries or none at all and seat belts and safety seats are the reason why.
 
North Carolina law (NCGS 20-135.2A) requires all drivers and front seat passengers to be buckled up.  Children less than 16 years of age must be buckled up in any seating position in the car.  Children less than 8 years of age AND 80 lbs must be secured in a child passenger restraint system (NCGS 20-137.1).  Drivers are responsible for passengers less than 16.  Front seat passengers 16 and older are responsible for themselves.  Persons violating the child restraint law are subject to a $25.00 fine plus current court costs.  Persons violating the seat belt law are subject to a $25.00 fine plus a $75.00 court cost fee.
 
Effective December 1, 2006:
 
All drivers and passengers, in the rear seats as well as in the front seat, ages 16 and older must wear their seat belts.  Children less than age 16 are covered by NC Child Passenger Safety Laws.

SEAT BELT FACTS
  • Seat belts reduce your chances of being killed or seriously injured in a crash by 50 percent.
  • Wearing seat belts helps you control the car in emergency situations, making you more likely to avoid an accident.
  • Wearing your seat belt also prevents you from getting a traffic ticket.