How Do I ...
Online Services
Public Records
About HWHC
HWHC Coalition
Working Groups
Community Assessment

HWHC Coalition
The HWHC Coalition is comprised of the Leadership Team and the Steering Committee, as well as community members and organizations involved in specific working groups. The Steering Committee meets quarterly.
Leadership Team
  • Kerry Burch, Mecklenburg County Healthy Carolinians
  • Deb Kaclik, Charlotte-Mecklenburg Schools
  • Mike Kennedy, Mecklenburg County Health Department
  • Nancy Lagenfeld, Charlotte-Mecklenburg Schools
  • Jon Levin, Mecklenburg County Health Department
  • Dr. Jessica Schorr Saxe, Medical Director of HWHC, Carolinas Healthcare System

Steering Committee – Working Groups


Working Group​ Chairs and Co-chairs​
Academia Working Group​ ​Laura Clark, Larry King Center of the Council for Children’s Rights and Beth Racine, University of North Carolina at Charlotte
Business Working Group ​Julie Jackman, Fit City Challenge ​
Community Organizations Working Group ​Allison Mignery, Mecklenburg County Fruit and Veggie Coalition ​
​Faith Community ​Working Group Chaplain Harry Burns, Novant Health, Inc. and Hazel Dawkins, Friendship Missionary Baptist Church
​Government/Elected Officials ​Working Group Chris Campbell, Charlotte Housing Authority; Nykki Hardy, County Manager’s Office; and Kevin Monroe, Mayor’s Office
​Health Care Providers ​Working Group Ellen Cary, Teen Health Connection and Traci Lamothe, MD, Novant Health, Inc.
Media Working Group ​Dee Dixon, PRIDE Communications; Bev Kothe, Kothe Qualitative Research; and Mary Newsom, Charlotte Observer ​
​Preschool-Aged Organizations Working Group  ​Janet Singerman, Child Care Resources, Inc.
Race/Ethnicity-Based Organizations Working Group ​Patrick Graham, Urban League of Central Carolinas and Denise Hairston, Black Women’s Health Network ​
​School-Aged Organizations Working Group  ​Melissa Dunlap, Martin Luther King, Jr. Middle School and Claire Tate, Partners in Out-of-School-Time

Printed from: