How Do I ...
Online Services
Public Records
Conservation Home
Classroom Presentations
District Banquet
Federal Programs
Rain Barrel Sale
State Programs
Tree Seedling Sale
Urban Cost Share Program
About Us
How to Get Involved
Meeting Calendar for 2014
Board of Supervisors
Conservation Planning and Technical Assistance
Cost Share and Financial Assistance
Conservation Education Competitions and Workshops
Outdoor Classroom Resources and Grants

​Board of Supervisors

The Mecklenburg Soil and Water Conservation District (MSWCD) is a governmental subdivision of the state of North Carolina, and a public body, corporate and politic, organized according to the Soil and Water Conservation District Law, operating within the powers set forth in the Law.

Each soil and water conservation district is administered by a five person board of supervisors. Three of these supervisors are elected at the same time as the regular election of county officers. This election is nonpartisan and is conducted by the respective county board of elections. Two supervisors are appointed by the North Carolina Soil and Water Conservation Commission upon the recommendation of the local district board of supervisors. All five supervisors serve four year terms of office.   
Dempsey Miller, Chair

Dempsey Miller is serving his first term as an elected supervisor. Dempsey lives in Huntersville and has been a resident of Mecklenburg County since 1981. He is a Professional Engineer and Real Estate Broker. He is a graduate of North Carolina State
University with a degree in Civil Engineering.


Nancy Carter, Vice Chair

Nancy Carter was appointed to the board in January of 2012, to fulfill an unexpired elected term. She has worked on tree and green space preservation, air quality, water quality and flow and invasive species while on environmental committees with the City Council, NC League of Municipalities and National League of Cities during her tenure on Charlotte City Council (1999-2011).  Nancy is originally from the Shenandoah Valley, Virginia and moved, to Charlotte in 1976.

Michael Entrekin, Secretary/Treasurer

Michael Entrekin is serving his second term as an appointed supervisor, being first appointed in 2008. Michael is a native of Rock Hill, SC and moved to Charlotte in 1997. A graduate of the University of South Carolina he holds a Masters Degree in Environmental Health Science. His thesis was titled "Storm Flowpaths and Biogeochemistry of a Karst Stream in Southwest Georgia".


Brad Johnson, Member

Brad was appointed to fulfill the vacancy left by Jennifer Frost.  Brad is a Professor at Davidson College, where his studies include soils, geomorphology and historical climates.  His work in the Piedmont of North Carolina includes research on soil evolution and the impacts of urbanization on streams.  He is also involved with the Davidson Lands Conservancy.


Jason Cathey, Member

Jason was appointed to the board in October of 2013.  He has worked for Gaston Natural Resources as a Natural Resource Conservationist since 2004-2005 and 2006-present.  From 2005-2006, he worked as the Urban Conservationist for the Mecklenburg Soil and Water Conservation District.  Jason graduated from the University of North Carolina at Charlotte with a Bachelor of Arts in Earth Science and Geography in 2002.  Jason is a native of Charlotte, North Carolina

W. Gray Newman, Associate Member

Gray is currently serving as an associate supervisor, having previously served terms as both an elected and appointed supervisor.  He is an (almost) native of Mecklenburg County, having moved here at age two.  Gray is a graduate of both Central Piedmont Community College and the University of North Carolina at Charlotte.  He also holds a Masters Degree in Public Administration from Georgia State University.  


Printed from: