Southwest Airlines Plans AirTran Airways Conversion at CLT in Spring 2013

Southwest Airlines announced today AirTran Airways will convert to Southwest Airlines on April 14, 2013 at Charlotte Douglas International Airport (CLT). AirTran Airways will cease operations April 13, 2013 at CLT.

AirTran Airways, a subsidiary of Southwest, currently offers three daily nonstop flights to Atlanta and Baltimore International Airports from CLT, except on Saturday when two daily flights are offered to the two cities.

“Southwest Airlines is known throughout the country for its unique product and customer service delivery,” said CLT Aviation Director Jerry Orr. “I am sure this will please a number of our passengers who have been requesting this for some time.”

Southwest, together with AirTran, serves 103 destinations in 41 states, the District of Columbia, the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico, six near-international countries and employs more than 46,000. The airline plans to release flight schedules for CLT on Monday, October 29.

Click here to read more about today's announcement from Southwest Airlines.

CLT is served by six major carriers, 14 regional carriers and three foreign flag carriers. Charlotte Douglas offers nonstop service to 142 destinations, including 36 international locations.