Report A Crime
Our Organization
Our Response Areas
For Your Safety
Our Newsroom
Print this PageSite Feedback
Robbery Division
 
  Robbery
The responsibility of the Robbery Unit is to investigate all armed robberies, commercial common law robberies, and any robbery in which there was serious injury.  The mission of the unit is to investigate, identify, apprehend all suspects and to ensure the quality and integrity of the investigation.  The Robbery Unit  takes a proactive approach to the investigation of robbery cases, utilizing problem solving techniques and models in an effort to prevent the next crime.
 
Armed Robbery – Also called Robbery with a Dangerous Weapon, ( N.C. G. S. 14-87) occurs when one commits or attempts to commit larceny from the person by the possession, use, or threatened use of a firearm, or other dangerous weapon which endangers the life of a person.
 
Common Law Robbery - (Also Called Strong Arm Robbery) is defined by Common Law and occurs when one commits larceny from the person or from the person's presence by violence, fear, threat or intimidation.         

  What to do DURING a robbery
  • Try to stay calm.  Don't make any sudden movements to upset the robber.
  • Do exactly as you are told. DO NOT RESIST!
  • Activate your alarm ONLY if you can do so secretly.
  • Tell the robber about anything that might surprise him, such as someone who is expected to arrive soon.
  • If you have to move or reach, tell the robber what you are going to do and why.
  • Try to get a good look at the robber so you can describe him later.
  • Don't be a hero.  It's better to lose your money than your life.
  • Give the robber time to leave.
  • Note his direction of travel when he leaves.
  • Try to get a description of his vehicle ONLY if you can do so without exposing yourself to harm

What to do AFTER a robbery

  • Call the police immediately, even if you have activated the alarm.
  • Close the store and lock the door(s).
  • Do not discuss the details of the robbery with witnesses or fellow employees.
  • Ask any witnesses to stay until police arrive.  If they can't, get their names, phone numbers and addresses.
  • Do not touch anything that the robber may have touched.  Block off areas where the robber was.
  • Try to recall as much as you can about the robber's appearance, speech and mannerisms.  Make notes.
  • Step outside the store when the police arrive so that they'll know the robber is gone and you are safe.
  • Let the police answer inquiries from the news media.
  • Do not discuss the amount of money taken with anyone other than police. 

Some Robbery Prevention Tips...

 
 
Personnel
The Robbery Unit is staffed by a captain, two sergeants, an investigative technician, and fourteen detectives.  The office is staffed regularly from 7:30 a.m. to 11:00 p.m, seven days a week.   Detectives work on a callback basis during overnight hours. To reach a robbery Sergeant after 11:00pm, contact the Watch Commander at 704-336-2141.
 
To contact any member of the robbery unit, you can send an e-mail by clicking on their name or call their desk number. 


Robbery Unit

 Capt. Michelle Hummel 704-336-4183 mhummel@cmpd.org
 Sgt. Walther 704-432-2604 wwalther@cmpd.org
 Sgt. Scharf 704-336-5072 bscharf@cmpd.org
 Investigative Technician Kim Chapman 704-336-3406 kchapman@cmpd.org


Northeast Service Area

 Eastway Division
 Det. Wolfe 704-336-6612 awolfe@cmpd.org
 Det. Medrano 704-336-8990 kmedrano@cmpd.org
 North Tryon Division
 Det. Fischbach 704-336-8298 sfischbach@cmpd.org
 Det. Blum 704-336-7127 pblum@cmpd.org

 University City Division

 Det. Wagner 704-336-2714 mwagner@cmpd.org


Northwest Service Area

 Metro Division
 Det. Hyde 704-336-6299 ahyde@cmpd.org
 North Division
 Det. Rush 704-432-2910 crush@cmpd.org

 Freedom Division

 Det. Pearson 704-336-7744 bpearson@cmpd.org


Southwest Service Area

 Central Division
 Det. Decker 704-336-7691 tdecker@cmpd.org
 Steele Creek Division
 Det. Quevedo 704-336-7697 equevedo@cmpd.org

 Westover Division

 Det. Todd 704-336-4825 stodd@cmpd.org


Southeast Service Area

 Hickory Grove Division
 Det. Goncalves 704-336-7743 tgoncalves@cmpd.org
 Providence Division
 Det. Stutts 704-353-1046 tstutts@cmpd.org

 Independence Division

 Det. Terry 704-336-2202 jterry@cmpd.org
 South Division
 Det. Stutts 704-353-1046 tstutts@cmpd.org