Report A Crime
Our Organization
Our Response Areas
For Your Safety
Our Newsroom
Print this PageSite Feedback
Lake Information
Lake Norman:
Lake Norman has over 520 miles of shoreline covering 32,510 acres. Lake Norman is positioned in Mecklenburg, Iredell, Lincoln, and Catawba counties, and each of the jurisdictions having enforcement authority on the entire lake. Within Mecklenburg County there are 90 miles of shoreline covering 10,350 acres. Lake Norman is a beautiful recreational area and within the four counties bordering Lake Norman there are approximately 40,000 registered boats and/or watercraft.

Mountain Island Lake:
Mountain Island Lake is the smallest of the three lakes in Mecklenburg County covering 3,235 acres and having 61 miles of shoreline. This lake is bordered by Mecklenburg, Gaston, and Lincoln Counties. Within Mecklenburg County, there are approximately 1,790 acres of water and 31 miles of shoreline.

Mountain Island is a narrow lake with numerous exotic wildlife habitats within it's borders. Latta Plantation Park area, The Wildlife Refuge area, and the Carolina Raptor Center is located near Mountain Island Lake. Numerous species of wildlife can be viewed and observed.

Lake Wylie
Lake Wylie was first created in 1904 and the dam was rebuilt in 1924. It is named for Dr. W. Gil Wylie who organized Duke Power. The Lake has 325 miles of shoreline and 13,443 acres of surface area. Lake Wylie is positioned in Mecklenburg and Gaston Counties in North Carolina and in York County, South Carolina. Lake Wylie supports the hydroelectric plant at the dam, Allen Steam Station, and Catawba Nuclear Station.