Report A Crime
Our Organization
Our Response Areas
For Your Safety
Our Newsroom
Print this PageSite Feedback
Independence Division

9315 - G Monroe Road  Charlotte, NC 28202   phone: 704.841.1477   fax: 704.841.1873

Central Division

Eastway Division

Freedom Division

Hickory Grove Division

Independence Division

Metro Division

North Division

North Tryon Division

Providence Division

South Division

Steele Creek Division

University City Division

Westover Division
                                      
 
              

Independence map

view division map

 Independence Division Commander
 Captain Bowling Captain Nelson Bowling

phone: 704-841-1477

email: nbowling@cmpd.org
                                                           
There are 76 Officers, 3 Response Area Lieutenants, 7 Sergeants, 1 Investigative Technician and a Captain assigned to the division.
      The Independence Division comprises nearly 20.5 square miles of Mecklenburg County with a strong commercial presence as well as residential areas. Independence is located in the southeastern portion of Mecklenburg County. 
 
 


 

  Independence Division Key Staff

The Response Area Team is designed to strengthen ownership and accountability for crime reduction and community safety. It enables officers to become more familiar with the people who live and work there, patterns of crime and suspect behaviors, and community resources that may be leveraged to address crime and quality of life issues.
 

 Response Area 1

Lt. Koch
view response area

Lieutenant 
Brad Koch
phone: 704-841-1477
email:
bkoch@cmpd.org
view current Newsletter

To reach Response Area 1 personnel, please call 704-841-1477.

Sergeant Kim Maynard (1st shift)
kmaynard@cmpd.org  

Sergeant Dan Merwin (1st shift)
dmerwin@cmpd.org  



Community Coordinators
Officer Kevin Baucom
kbaucom@cmpd.org

Officer Michael Storc
mstorc@cmpd.org 

 


 Response Area 2

Lt. Cristy
view response area

Lieutenant 
David Cristy
phone: 704-841-1477
email:
dcristy@cmpd.org
view current Newsletter

To reach Response Area 2 personnel, please call 704-841-1477.

Sergeant Juan Garrido (2nd shift)
jgarrido@cmpd.org    
 
Sergeant Rob Havens (2nd shift)
rhavens@cmpd.org  

 
 
Community Coordinators
Officer Wes Corell
wcorell@cmpd.org
 
Officer Officer Alissa Whaley
awhaley@cmpd.org  

 


 Response Area 3

Lt. Blow
view response area

Lieutenant 
Jeremiah Blow
phone: 704-841-1477
email:
cblow@cmpd.org
view current Newsletter

To reach Response Area 3 personnel, please call 704-841-1477.

Sergeant Joe Reiner (3rd shift)   jreiner@cmpd.org  

Sergeant Miguel Santiago (3rd shift)
msantiago1@cmpd.org 

 

Community Coordinators
Officer Andrew Seward 
aseward@cmpd.org
 
Officer Ron Webster
rwebster@cmpd.org
 



Focus Mission Team
Sergeant Henry Rozell
Phone: 704-841-1477
Email: hrozell@cmpd.org



The Independence Division office is not staffed 24 hours a day; however we do have voice mail on our phone line. Your call will be returned as early as possible.

If you want to report a crime and need police assistance in an emergency, dial 911.

If you want to report a crime or other information that does not require the police to respond to you or your location, please dial 311 (non-emergency crime reporting) or the Independence Division Office 704-841-1477.

Crime Alerts -- Receive email alerts about crime in your area.
Yes, please Notify Me

Neighborhood Meetings and News -- get the latest news and information about what's going on in your area.
Yes, please Notify Me

CMPD News -- Subscribe to receive the latest news releases and media briefs via email.
Yes, please Notify Me - News