Charlotte's Future
Citywide Newsroom
Citizen Service
Print this PageSite Feedback
LaWana Mayfield, district 3 representative
LaWana Mayfield, a democrat, represents district 3 on Charlotte City Council. She was elected in 2011 and is serving her third term.
In 2014, Mayfield was awarded the David Bohnett LGBT Leadership Fellowship and completed the Harvard Kennedy School of Government program.
​​Mayfield serves on the National League of Cities (NLC) REAL Race, Equity and Leadership Committee, as president of the Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual and Transgender Local Officials (GLBTLO) and as board member of Smart Start of Mecklenburg County. She also serves on the Centralina Economic Development Committee and is secretary of the North Carolina Black Elected Municipal Officials.
Mayfield received the Diversity Outreach and Volunteer of the Year awards from the Human Rights Campaign, the Woman of Achievement Community Champion Award from the YWCA, 2012, 2013 and 2014 Best of on Q-List, the 2013 Harvey B. Gantt Award from the Young Democrats, as well as the 2014 Charlotte Business Guild Torchbearer Award.
 Contact LaWana Mayfield

Charlotte City Council Office
600 East 4th Street
Charlotte, NC 28202
Phone:   704-336-3435 (office) or 704-352-7305 (cell)


LaWana Mayfield participates in the following mayor-appointed council committees: 
Related links