Charlotte's Future
Citywide Newsroom
Citizen Service
Print this PageSite Feedback
CMPD Officers Honored for Police-Community Relations Efforts
Friday, May 27, 2011

Contact: Kelly Setzer
704-336-4287 or

On Thursday, May 19, twelve Charlotte-Mecklenburg Police Department (CMPD) officers were honored at the 32nd Annual Police Community Relations Awards ceremony and reception held at the Palmer Building in uptown Charlotte. The awards recognize officers and work teams from CMPD who have made outstanding contributions to the improvement of police-community relations in Charlotte-Mecklenburg.
This year’s winners include:
•        Officer Ryan Botzenmayer, University City Division
•        Officer Patrick Hairston, Westover Division
•        Officer Julio Herrera, South Division
•        Sergeant Jacquelyn Hulsey, Westover Division
•        Captain Johnny Jennings, North Tryon Division
•        Officer Dan Kellough, Providence Division
•        Sergeant Ken Schul, North Tryon Division
•        Detective Brian Wakeland, Hickory Grove Division
•        Officer John Kitchens, Metro Division
•        Officer Carolynn Pierce, Metro Division
•        Officer Beth Jackson, South Division
•        Officer Kenneth Faulkner, South Division
Officers were chosen based on their involvement in helping the community understand the police function and the citizens’ role, demonstration of extraordinary efforts in the area of crime prevention, and involvement in aiding neighborhoods in handling special problems. Nominations for the awards were made by citizens of the community and winners were selected by a committee made up of members of the Charlotte-Mecklenburg Community Relations Committee.
Click here to learn more about the award winners.