Transit Planning
Blue Line Extension Proposals

​​​​​​​​​In 2009, 383 artists responded to a national call to artists to compete for an opportunity to integrate art into the LYNX Blue Line Extension.  The selected artists worked through consecutive design phases over the past few​​ years, interacting with representatives of neighborhood community, members of the BLE project team, the Art-in-Transit Advisors, and CATS staff.  The artists proposed art for retaining walls, bridges, elevator towers, plazas, underpasses, and for the 11 stations starting at 9th Street in uptown Charlotte and extending to the campus of the University of North Carolina Charlotte.  The art will be fabricated in 2015 and 2016 and be part of the line opening in 2017.    ​​​​​

Click on the images below to learn more about each proposal


9th Street
Anna Murch and Doug Hollis

36th Street Station
Paul Sires and Ruth Ava Lyons

THR thumbnail detail.jpg
Tom Hunter
Tom Stanley​​​

Maria Artemis

Sugar Creek
Chandra Cox

University City Boulevard
Jackie Chang

25th Street
Sharon Dowell

Old Concord Rd
Chandra Cox

Shaun Cassidy


                                            JW Clay / UNC Charlotte                      UNC Charlotte Main
                                                    Jackie Chang                                   Mikyoung Kim

System Wide

                                                      Bike Parking                                 Elevators                                 
                                                     Darren Goins                             Susan Brenner      

              1-277 underpass thumbnail.jpg

                                                  ​Walls and Bridges                    11th St & I-277 Underpasses
                                                  Carolyn Braaksma                              Sharon Dowell 

​​The artists were selected by a five member panel of art professionals from the Carolinas appointed by the Art-in-Transit Advisory Committee:

Nancy Doll – Director, Weatherspoon Art Museum at the University of North Carolina at Greensboro
Harriett Green - Visual Arts Director, South Carolina Arts Commission
Jean Greer - Former Vice President of Public Art & Creative Individuals, Arts and Science Council of Charlotte  
Lia Newman - Director/Curator of Davidson Galleries, Davidson University
A.T. Stephens – Professor of Design Studies, NC State University, College of Design