About Us
Community & Capital Planning
Historic Districts
Maps & Tools
Print this PageSite Feedback
Planning Commission

The Planning Commission

The Planning Commission was formed by an Interlocal Agreement as a planning advisory body to the City of Charlotte and Mecklenburg County in 1954.

The Planning Commission is composed of 14 members, five (5) appointed by Charlotte City Council, two (2) by the Mayor and seven by the Board of County Commissioners (including Charlotte-Mecklenburg Schools). The term of office is three (3) years with a maximum of two consecutive terms.

The Commission principally conducts its business in two (2) Committees:
Zoning Committee
Planning Committee

Membership on the two committees rotates to allow commissioners to serve on both during their tenure.

Planning Commission Meetings*

The Planning Commission meets as a full body each month to make policy decisions and to receive committee status reports.

Joint Work Session:                    1st Monday             Noon

Charlotte City Council holds rezoning public hearings (Zoning Committee members are required to attend City rezoning hearings).

Rezoning Public Hearings:            3rd Monday            6:00 pm

Meeting Chamber

Charlotte-Mecklenburg Government Center
600 E. Fourth Street


Planning Committee Meetings to discuss long range policy issues such as area plans and Mandatory Referrals.

Planning Committee Meeting      3rd Tuesday           5:00 pm


Zoning Committee meetings to review and discuss rezoning petitions and changes to zoning regulations.

Zoning Committee Meeting         4th Wednesday       4:30 pm


Meeting Location and Times

*Meetings are held at the Charlotte-Mecklenburg Government Center, 600 E. Fourth Street.
ALL Meeting dates, times and locations are subject to change.

Visit our Events Meeting Calendar

You may also call the Planning Department�s office at (704) 336-2205 to verify meeting times and locations.

Public Attendance
All official meetings of the Planning Commission and its committees are open to the public under the North Carolina open meeting laws. Copies of all minutes are part of the public record and are available at the Planning Department�s office.


Charlotte City Council

Mecklenburg County Commissioners





For more information regarding the Charlotte-Mecklenburg Planning Commission
Please contact:
Cheryl Neely
Charlotte-Mecklenburg Planning Department
600 East Fourth Street (8th Floor)
Charlotte, North Carolina 28202