How Do I ...
Online Services
Public Records
2014 Stories
2013 Stories
2012 Stories
2011 Stories
2010 Stories
2009 Stories
2008 Stories
2007 Stories
2006 Stories
2005 Stories
2004 Stories
2003 Stories
2002 Stories
2003 News from Mecklenburg County

March 24, 2003

New Air Quality Commission Begins Tenure

Charlotte, NC -Mecklenburg County's new Air Quality Commission (AQC) will hold its first meeting tonight, March 24, 2003, at 5:30 pm in the E.L. Woods Training Center of the Hal Marshall County Services Center located at 700 North Tryon Street in Charlotte, N.C.

The Mecklenburg Board of County Commissioners (BOCC) created the AQC to promote the protection, preservation, and enhancement of the County's ambient air resources. The AQC will provide citizen and stakeholder input to the BOCC, local municipalities and staff through the review and recommendation of air pollution management policies, long-range plans and operations, and their budgetary impact.

The members of the Commission, a citizen's advisory group, appointed to three-year terms, are:

Steven Weber, Chair 
Kris Knudsen
Mary Barker 
Karen McMillan
Nancy Bryant 
Gordon Miller
Mark Casper 
Randolph Perkins
Todd Hayes 
Fletcher Roberts
Kimberly Holley 
Michele Sinn

The AQC's first meeting will include a review of their charter, an overview of air quality in Mecklenburg County, and an update on the Breathe initiative. The AQC will receive public comments and review three air quality permits. The Commission meets the 4th Monday of each month. The agenda for each meeting can be found at

Printed from: