How Do I ...
Online Services
Public Records
2014 Stories
2013 Stories
2012 Stories
2011 Stories
2010 Stories
2009 Stories
2008 Stories
2007 Stories
2006 Stories
2005 Stories
2004 Stories
2003 Stories
2002 Stories
Library Task Force Members Set
Library Task Force Members Set
With expertise ranging from finance and business to law and planning, the 17-member Future of the Library Task Force is set to begin its work, developing recommendations for a sustainable future for the Charlotte Mecklenburg Library.
Dr. Jim Woodward, chairman of the Task Force, announced today that the members, all volunteers, have been chosen and will begin meeting later this month.
“The pool of applicants was very impressive,” said Woodward. “With such a vast array of skills and experiences to choose from, we have assembled an extremely talented group that is well prepared to carry out the important responsibility given us.”
Nearly 90 people applied to join the Task Force. Its charge is to make recommendations to the Library Board of Trustees and the Mecklenburg Board of County Commissioners to develop strategic alternatives to ensure a sustainable future for the Library.
The 17 Task Force members are:
Jim Woodward, Chancellor Emeritus, UNC Charlotte
Jeff Armstrong: Managing Partner, Eitel and Armstrong
Robert M. Bisanar: Attorney, Ogletree Deakins
Alan Blumenthal: Chairman of the Board, Radiator Specialty Company
Pamela Davies: President, Queens University of Charlotte
Michael A. DeVaul: Senior Vice President of Organizational Advancement, YMCA of Greater Charlotte
Geneal Gregory: Community Volunteer
W.A. Heath, Jr.: Managing Partner, Heath Partners
Carol Hull: Vice President, Process Design Consultant for Technology and Operations, Bank of America
Leonora Kaufmann: Former Director, Library and Information Resources, Carolinas Healthcare System and Charlotte AHEC
Gloria A. Kelley: Dean of Library Services, Central Piedmont Community College
Bill Millett: President, Scopeview Strategic Advantage
Bernie Simmons: Retired Television Broadcaster
Scott D. Stone: Vice President, Merrick and Company
Julie Szeker: Attorney, Johnston Allison & Hord
Connie Wessner: Commissioner, Town of Davidson Board of Commissioners
Ed Williams: Retired Editor of Editorial Pages, Charlotte Observer
At large Task Force members were appointed by the Task Force Chairman in consultation with the Library Board of Trustees Chair, the Mecklenburg Board of County Commissioners Chair, and other stakeholders. Additional public involvement opportunities also will be provided later in the process for citizens to provide input and feedback.
The Task Force was first proposed during the spring County budget cycle, when stakeholders began discussing the need to create a stable funding platform for the Library.
At their budget straw vote, the Board of County Commissioners made the creation of a task force part of its contingency for library funding for FY2011.
In July, the Library received a grant for $75,000 from the Community Catalyst Fund of the Foundation for the Carolinas to fund the Task Force. Grant funds will be used to defray expenses of the Task Force, in addition to what is donated or provided by the Library and County.
The Task Force will begin meeting regularly starting October 20, and is scheduled to complete its work by March 1, 2011.
Media Contacts:
Cordelia Anderson
Charlotte Mecklenburg Library
Phone: (704) 416-0712
Danny Diehl
Mecklenburg County
Phone: (704) 336-2084

Printed from: